Step three: starting on the kitchen

Published August 12, 2012 by knittingmamma

I can’t remember the last time I felt really proud of an achievement at work. Shuffling numbers around a spreadsheet might be entirely necessary, but it doesn’t really get me jumping up and down. But when I managed to take out an old drawer whose bottom frequently dropped out, build a new drawer, fit the runners, fit the drawer, and it all actually fitted into the cupboard, I had to shout out loud my delight and pride in myself. It might be a simple and straightforward thing for someone used to doing DIY, but for me it was a big deal. I had set myself a goal and reached it. Something tangible that would make my life easier.

Now I have worked my way around the kitchen, I can put together a drawer without looking at the instructions, change a cupboard door in under 10 minutes and even adjust the hang of the door. I am really pleased with my quirky mismatched purple door knobs, and my new larder cupboard with four practical wire basket drawers instead of two shelves pleases me beyond reason for a normal person. I just have to decide what to do about the larder door as the size I need is not available in the same style.

Before:

20120708-095405.jpg

After:

20120708-095517.jpg

20120708-095537.jpg

20120708-095609.jpg

20120708-095815.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

